TW homeWorking with TW
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Technology, Instruction, Pizza (TIP) Workshops  Tags: faculty pizza technology handbrake els earlham_learning_spaces doodle google_docs comic_life instruction screencast-o-matic twiddla librarything youtube  

Technology, Instruction, Pizza (TIP) Workshops
Last update: Mar 28th, 2009 URL: http://earlham.libguides.com/tip  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Boon or Bust             Print Page
  
 

Wikipedia

To find Wikipedia in other languages, go to: http://wikipedia.org

Some interesting examples of wikis out there:

Further reading (in Lilly Library):

Wikipedia Reader's Guide (The Missing Manual series)
A short introduction to Wikipedia and some basic editing tools.
TK
5105.8882
.W54
B762
2008

Wikipedia (The Missing Manual series)
A more extensive version of the above, with more detailed information on editing.
TK
5105.8882
.W54
B76
2008

 

Google Books

Google Books

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

According to Google, with Google Scholar "you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations." (Google Scholar About page, http://scholar.google.com/intl/en/scholar/about.html, Accessed February 16, 2009)

 

Why Use Google Scholar?

--For quick access to open access articles.

--One stop shopping; Google Scholar, or something like it, may very well represent the future of searching. Instead of having to search multiple databases, researchers could go to one place.

--In theory, Google Scholar provides a way for people without access to scholarly databases--public library patrons, for instance--to be able to find citations, if not full text, of scholarly resources they could then acquire via interlibrary loan. It is free to search, and some items are available for free.

--Once you recognize its current limitations, google scholar can be a useful tool and a place to start research.

 

Why NOT Use Google Scholar?

--As of today, significant amount of scholarly material does not seem to be available. Not all publishers have reached an agreement with Google.

--Confusing display: articles and books may come up several times in the search and it may not be obvious which one to choose. How the items are ranked is not entirely clear. Without going deep into the search, researchers may miss an important item.

--Unlike databases such as PsychInfo, there is not a clear editorial policy or explanation of what it is included. The item generally are scholarly, but children's books sometimes come up in the search as well.

 

 

Library Home · Lilly Library · Wildman Science Library · Friends Collection & College Archives ·

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095

Copyright information · Send corrections or comments to Web Editor

Description

  Loading content... please wait