- United States Depository Ready Reference Sources
A convenient arrangement of frequently-used government documents (e.g. Consumer Price Indexes, Budget of the US Government, CDC Travel Information). Maintained by Columbia University.
- Bureau of the Census
The official site includes access tools, current economic indicators, and more. For interactive mapping and data retrieval of 1990 US Census data only, try Columbia University's SEDAC Demographic Data Viewer.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics
An extensive collection of statistics and reports broadly related to employment and economics.
- ChildStats.gov
From the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, contains statistics and reports on population, family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior, social environment, and education.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included.
- National Center for Education Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to education in the US and other countries.
- National Center for Health Statistics
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data that are related to health in the US and other countries.
- US Department of Justice Bureau of Justice Statistics
An extensive collection of statistics and reports broadly related to crime and justice.
- American Factfinder
Geographically detailed data on population, housing, business and government from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Census Bureau Economic Programs
Statistics on business, labor, employment for the U.S.
- DataFerrett/TheDataWeb
Access tool for data archive of major federal panel datasets including the Consumer Expenditure Survey, Current Population Survey, several health surveys, and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) (download required).
- Office of Trade and Industry Information
Data on imports and exports to/from the U.S. and states, including a link to TradeStats Express.