Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Friends Collection and College Archives  Tags: history quaker archives earlham esr  

Last update: Nov 06th, 2009 URL: http://earlham.libguides.com/ecarchives  Print Guide  RSS Updates

College Archives             Print Page
  
 

College Archives Guide

 
 

College Archives

The Arthur and Kathleen Postle Archives and Friends Collection are named for the late Arthur Postle and his wife, Kathleen, the latter the donor who served the college for many years as a member of the faculty.

The Archives keeps alive the institutional memory of Earlham. The Archives preserves all the material that is judged to be of historical significance for Earlham and Earlhamites.

The many files include official records; collections of publications, such as the College's first printed catalog of 1858; Opinion Board papers dating back to its founding in 1948, and complete runs of the campus newspapers since 1873. The collection includes such interesting and diverse objects as the ink well used by Earlham's first president, Barnabas Hobbs. Chairs used in the Archives today are the same ones used when the student dining hall opened in 1847.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageAnne Thomason


Contact Info:
765-983-1743
Send Email

Subjects:
Archives

 

Library Home · Lilly Library · Wildman Science Library · Friends Collection & College Archives ·

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095

Copyright information · Send corrections or comments to Web Editor

Description

  Loading content... please wait