Reference: Comprehensive Guides
- Blackwell Reference Online: Religion
Complete text of 23 Blackwell reference works, providing general articles and essays on theology, world religions, philosophy of religions, Bible, and other topics. - Oxford Islamic Studies Online
A first stop for anyone needing information on Islam, it encompasses over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines. - Oxford Reference Online : Religion & Philosophy
Searchable fulltext of 14 Oxford University Press reference titles in Bible, church history, world religions, and philosophy. - Reference Universe
A unique tool that can search across the indexes of many reference works. The book icon next to the title indicates whether we have the resource. Remote students can use Document Delivery to request specific reference articles unavailable online.
Reference: Online Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Online version of the five volume, 3rd edition (Macmillan, 2004). Excellent coverage of bioethics, broadly defined. - Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
A look at Islam's role in the modern world in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries through articles, biographies of key figures, definitions, illustrations, and maps. - Encyclopaedia Judaica
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel. - Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Online version of the ten volume, 2nd edition (Macmillan, 2006). An excellent starting point for research on topics related to philosophy. - Encyclopedia of Religion
Online version of the fifteen volume, 2nd edition (Macmillan, 2005). An outstanding scholarly work on almost any religious topic. We also have both the 1st and 2nd editions in print in our reference section.
Reference: Print Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of Asian Christianity / - Sunquist, Scott.
Call Number: REF BR1065 .D52 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 080283776X
Describing Christianity as it exists in the region from Pakistan to Japan, this volume's 1,260 signed articles include biographies of important Asian church leaders as well as information on the political, cultural, and religious movements that have shaped the Christian faith in this part of the world. It includes maps, cross-references, and bibliographies.
Encyclopædia of Religion and Ethics / - Hastings, James.
Call Number: REF BL31 .E4
ISBN/ISSN: 0003000207
Full text available online through Google Books.
Encyclopedia of Religion / - Lindsay Jones, editor in chief.
Call Number: REF BL31 .E46 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0028657330
(15 v.) Also available online.
In addition to the 2nd edition from 2005, we also own all 16 volumes from the 1st edition, call number: REF BL31 .E4.6.
Handbook of Christianity in Japan / - edited by Mark R. Mullins.
Call Number: REF BR1305 .H34 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 9004131566
Divided into three parts, Part I of the Handbook of Christianity of Japan focuses on Christianity in Japanese history and includes studies of the Roman Catholic mission in pre-modern Japan, the 'hidden Christian' tradition, Protestant missions in the modern period, Bible translations, and theology in Japan. Part II examines the complex relationship between Christianity and various dimensions of Japanese society, such as literature, politics, social welfare, education for women, and interaction with other religious traditions. Part III focuses on resources for the study of Christianity in Japan and provides a guide to archival collections, research institutes, and bibliographies.
New Catholic encyclopedia /
Call Number: REF BX841 .N44 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0787640042
Named as one of the top "50 resources for the Millennium" by "Library Journal, The New Catholic Encyclopedia" has long been regarded as one of the best core references in use today by libraries and religious organizations around the world. (15 v.) In addition to the 2003 edition, the library also owns all 18 volumes of the 1967 edition.
The Blackwell dictionary of Eastern Christianity / - Parry, Kenneth.
Call Number: REF BX100.7 .B53 1999
ISBN/ISSN: 0631189661
Also available as an E-Book.
The Encyclopedia of Christianity / - Evangelisches Kirchenlexikon.
Call Number: REF: BR95 .E8913 1999
ISBN/ISSN: 0802824137
5 volumes.The encyclopedia describes Christianity through its 2000-year history within a global context, taking into account other religions and philosophies. A special feature is the statistical information dispersed throughout the articles on the continents and over 170 countries. Social and cultural coverage is given to such issues as racism, genocide, and armaments, while historical content shows the development of biblical and apostolic traditions.
The Encyclopedia of Protestantism / - Hillerbrand, Hans Joachim.
Call Number: REF BX4811.3 .E53 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 0415924723
International in scope and attentive to developmental histories that have varied geographically, this reference work has little competition in terms of authority and range. Nearly 500 contributors provide information on theology, culture, eminent lives, material artifacts, and comparative religions.
The Oxford Handbook of Global Religions / - Juergensmeyer, Mark.
Call Number: REF BL74 .O94 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0195137981
Comprising 60 essays, the volume focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites. It is organized into six sections corresponding to the major living religious traditions: the Indic cultural region, the Buddhist/Confucian, the Jewish, Christian, and Muslim regions, and the African cultural region.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious Practices / - Riggs, Thomas.
Call Number: REF BL80.3 .W67 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0787666114
Provides information on current religious practices around the world, with an emphasis on how religions impact the daily lives of their followers. (3 v.)
Reference: Dictionaries
- English to French, Italian, German & Spanish Dictionary - WordReference.com
A collection of translation dictionaries for basic searches. - Fraktur Chart
While not a dictionary, this Web site will help you "translate" the curly German font into a Roman alphabet. - Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary
A quick way to look up a word for its basic definition and hear its pronunciation. This site also features a thesaurus, a medical dictionary, and the Merriam-Webster Word of the Day. - New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
A survey of the history of Western thought and culture that explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. - The New English-German Dictionary
This dictionary allows you to look up words in English or German. - Oxford English Dictionary
Current, online version of famous dictionary.
Your Guide |
Jennie KiffmeyerOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1408
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Peace & Global Studies, Religion, Theatre Arts
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1408
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Peace & Global Studies, Religion, Theatre Arts







Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait