Read a Book, Write a Book!
Earlham School of Religion (ESR) is hosting its Ministry of Writing: An Annual Colloquium on Friday, October 30-Saturday, October 31, 2009. To read more about the colloquium or to register to attend, please click here.
During the colloquium a number of wonderful authors will be leading workshops: poets Julia Kasdorf and David Shumate, novelists Steven Cleaver and Marsena Konkle, spiritual writer Rabbi Rami Shapiro, and children's author and storyteller Patty Willis.
Be sure to stop by Lilly Library to check out books by these writers--and other books by ESR graduates and professors--on display on the main floor.
Books by ESR Faculty
Here is a selection of books by current and past ESR faculty members. All books are in the main collection, unless otherwise noted. To find more, search our library catalog.
The New Black Gods: Arthur Huff Fauset and the Study of African American Religions / - ed. Curtis, Edward E.
Call Number: BL2525 .N484 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 0253220572
Includes an essay by Steven Angell, "Black gods : intersections with the Herskovits-Frazier debate."
Mind the Light: Learning to See with Spiritual Eyes / - Bill, J. Brent.
Call Number: Friends Collection: BX7748.I6 B55 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 1557254893
Sacred compass: The Way of Spiritual Discernment / - Bill, J. Brent.
Call Number: BV4509.5 .B43 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 1557255598
Engaging the Bible in a Gendered World: an Introduction to Feminist Biblical Interpretation in Honor of Katharine Doob Sakenfeld / - edited by Linda Day and Carolyn Pressler.
Call Number: BS521.4 .E55 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0664229107
Contains an essay by Nancy Bowen titled, "Women, violence, and the Bible."
A God So Near: Essays on Old Testament Theology in Honor of Patrick D. Miller / - edited by Brent A. Strawn and Nancy R. Bowen.
Call Number: BS1192.5 .G63 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 1575060671
Includes an essay by Nancy Bowen, "A Fairy Tale Wedding? A Feminist Intertextual Reading of Psalm 45."
Kindred Souls: Connecting Through Spiritual Friendship / - Ford, Stephanie A.
Call Number: BV4647.F7 F67 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0835899039
Leading Quakers: Disciple Leadership, a Friends Model / - Isbell, Jennifer L.
Call Number: Friends Collection: BX7745.I84 L4 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 1879117207
Hope & a Future / - edited by David Johns.
Call Number: Friends Collection: BX 7629 .M2 H6
ISBN/ISSN: 0944350259
Includes the essay, "Everett L. Cattell and the formation of the institutional identity of Malone College."
Mysticism and Ethics in Friedrich von Hügel / - Johns, David L.
Call Number: BX4705.H77 J64 2004
ISBN/ISSN: 0773462228
Thanking and Blessing--The Sacred Art: Spiritual Vitality Through Gratefulness / - Marshall, Jay W.
Call Number: Friends Collection: BX7617.M37 T43 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 1594732310
Where the Wind Blows: Vitality Among Friends / - Marshall, Jay W.
Call Number: Friends Collection: BX7748.C6 .M37 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 1879117150
A Very Good Marriage / - Mullen, Thomas James.
Call Number: Friends Collection: BX7748.M3 M8 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0944350577
Where Two or Three are Gathered Someone Spills the Milk / - Mullen, Thomas James.
Call Number: Friends Collection: BX7748.H9 M8 1997
ISBN/ISSN: 0913408956
Books by Keynote Speaker, Julia Kasdorf
Julia Spicher Kasdorf has published two books of poetry, a collection of essays, and a biography, as well as co-edited a collection of poems about Brooklyn. An associate professor of English and women’s studies at Pennsylvania State University, she teaches in the MFA program in creative writing.
The Body and the Book: Writing From a Mennonite Life : Essays and Poems / - Kasdorf, Julia.
Call Number: PS3561.A6958 B63 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0801866626
Eve’s Striptease / - Kasdorf, Julia.
Call Number: PS3561.A6958 E94 1998
ISBN/ISSN: 0822940647
Fixing Tradition: Joseph W. Yoder, Amish American / - Kasdorf, Julia.
Call Number: E184.M45 Y655 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 1931038066
Sleeping Preacher / - Kasdorf, Julia.
Call Number: PS3561.A6958 S57 1992
ISBN/ISSN: 082295480X
Books by Workshop Leaders: Steven Cleaver
Steven Cleaver is the author of Saving Erasmus (Paraclete Press, 2007), named Best Christian Fiction of 2007 by Publishers Weekly, Library Journal and Independent Publishers. Cleaver was named an Original Voice by Borders Books. He has self published a book of poetry, Dear God, or Whatever Your Name is Now (Lulu.com, 2008). He is also a satisfied graduate of ESR’s Ministry of Writing Program. His website is www.savingerasmus.com.
Books by Workshop Leaders: Marsena Konkle
Marsena Konkle is the author of the novel A Dark Oval Stone (Paraclete Press, 2006), a finalist in the 2004 Paraclete Fiction Contest. An excerpt of the novel was published in Brett Lott’s The Best Christian Short Stories (WestBow 2006). She is also the author of a screenplay, The Bridge, currently in production. She has an MFA in creative writing from Vermont College, and lives in the Chicago area.
Books by Workshop Leaders: Rami Shapiro
Rabbi Rami Shapiro is an award winning author, poet, essayist, and educator. A congregational rabbi for 20 years, he currently teaches Religious Studies at Middle Tennessee State University, and writes a regular column for Spirituality and Health magazine called Roadside Assistance for the Spiritual Traveler. His most recent books, all from Skylight Press, are Recovery, the Sacred Art (2009), The Divine Feminine (2005), and The Sacred Art of Lovingkindness (2006).
The Divine Feminine in Biblical Wisdom Literature: Selections Annotated & Explained: Translation & Annotation / - Shapiro, Rami M.
Call Number: BS580.W58 S53 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 1594731098
Ethics of the Sages: Pirke Avot--Annotated & Explained / - Mishnah.
Call Number: BM506 .A2 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 1594732078
Recovery--The Sacred Art: The Twelve Steps as Spiritual Practice / - Shapiro, Rami M.
Call Number: BL624 .S4825 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 1594732590
The Sacred Art of Lovingkindness: Preparing to Practice / - Shapiro, Rami M.
Call Number: BJ1533.K5 S53 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 1594731519
Books by Workshop Leaders: David Shumate
David Shumate is the author of High Water Mark (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2004), winner of the 2003 Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize and the 2004 Best Books of Indiana, poetry category. His second collection of prose poems, The Floating Bridge, was published by the University of Pittsburgh Press in 2008. His poetry has appeared widely in literary journals and has been anthologized in The Writer’s Almanac, Good Poems for Hard Times and The Best American Poetry 2007. He is the recipient of a 2009 NEA Poetry Fellowship. He teaches at Marian College in Indianapolis.
Books by Workshop Leaders: Patty C. Willis
Patty Christiena Willis is known in Japan for her youth novel The Village Above the Stars, published in Japanese and recommended reading by the Library Association of Japan. Her theater work has been performed at international festivals in Edinburgh, Tokyo, Osaka, Kobe, Kyoto, Los Angeles and New York. Her play Yugetsu received a national playwriting award. Her work was celebrated in an award-winning television documentary. Patty is currently a second year ESR student.
Guides to Creative Writing
The Alphabet of the Trees: A Guide to Nature Writing / - McEwen, Christian.
Call Number: PE1479.N28 A45 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0915924633
Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life. - Lamott, Anne.
Call Number: PN147 .L315 1995
ISBN/ISSN: 0385480016
The Elements of Style - Strunk, William, Jr. and E.B. White; illustrated by Maira Kalman.
Call Number: PE1408 .S772 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0143112724
From Where You Dream: The Process of Writing Fiction. - Butler, Robert Olen.
Call Number: PN3355 .B88 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0802117953
On Writing Well: An Informal Guide to Writing Nonfiction. - Zinsser, William Knowlton.
Call Number: PE1429 .Z5
ISBN/ISSN: 0060891548
Reading Like a Writer: A Guide for People Who Love Books and for Those Who Want to Write Them. - Prose, Francine.
Call Number: PE1408 .P774 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0060777044
Writing Fiction: The Practical Guide from New York’s Acclaimed Creative Writing School / - Steele, Alexander.
Call Number: PN3355 .W75 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 1582343306







Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait