Print Reference Sources in Education
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development / - Farenga, Stephen J.
Call Number: REF LB15 .E473 2005
ISBN/ISSN: 0765612682
(2005) 3 vols.
Encyclopedia of Education / - edited by James W. Guthrie.
Call Number: REF LB15 .E47 2003
ISBN/ISSN: 002865594X
The online version of the eight-volume, 2nd edition from Macmillan (2002) is also available. You may access it by going to our list of online encyclopedias and looking under Social Sciences -> Education.
Encyclopedia of Educational Research / - editor in chief, Marvin C. Alkin ; sponsored by the American Educational Research Association.
Call Number: REF LB15 .E48 1992
ISBN/ISSN: 0028964950
(1992) 4 vols., 6th ed.
Handbook of Research on Teaching / - edited by Virginia Richardson.
Call Number: REF LB1028 .H315 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0935302263
Encyclopedia of American Education / - Harlow G. Unger.
Call Number: REF LB17 .U54 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0816043442
(2001) 3 vols.
World education encyclopedia : a survey of educational systems worldwide / - Rebecca Marlow-Ferguson, editor and project coordinator ; Chris Lopez, associate editor.
Call Number: REF LB15 .W87 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0787655775
(2001) 3 vols.
Concise encyclopedia of special education / - edited by Cecil R. Reynolds, Elaine Fletcher-Janzen.
Call Number: REF LC4007 .E53 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0471392618
Updated abridgement of: Encyclopedia of special education. 2nd ed. c2000.
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities / - Carol Turkington, Joseph Harris.
Call Number: REF LC4704.5 .T86 2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0816040753
The Learning Differences Sourcebook / - by Nancy S. Boyles and Darlene Contadino.
Call Number: Electronic Resource / E-Book:
ISBN/ISSN: 0585153485
To access the book electronically, please copy the title and paste it into the title keyword search box in the Earlham Library Catalog. (Health Reference Series, v. 38)
Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia / - David L. Levinson, general editor ; Peter W. Cookson, Jr., co-editor; Alan R. Sadovnik, co-editor.
Call Number: REF LC189.95 .E38 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 0815316151
Encyclopedias in Psychology & Sociology
Encyclopedia of Psychology / - Alan E. Kazdin, editor in chief.
Call Number: REF BF31 .E52 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 1557981876
(2000) 8 vols.
Be sure to also browse the reference collection in the BF section for other encyclopedias in psychology.
Encyclopedia of Sociology / - Edgar F. Borgatta, editor-in-chief ; Rhonda J.V. Montgomery, managing editor.
Call Number: REF HM425 .E5 2000
ISBN/ISSN: 0028648536
(2000) 5 vols.
The Encyclopedia of Sociology also exists online. Go to our Encyclopedias and Dictionaries page, and look under Social Sciences->Sociology to find it.
Biographical Resources
- American National Biography. 24 vols. + suppl. 1999-2002 Online version of the multi-volume set that provides scholarly biographies of important people in all walks of American life. Also available in print: REF CT 213 .A68 1999.
- Biographical Resource Center
This online resource provides a collection of biographical entries from a variety of biographical dictionaries, encyclopedias and handbooks, as well as full-text articles from periodicals which are essentially biographical.
Tests and Testing
The Mental Measurements Yearbook / - Editors: 1940-1978, Oscar Krisen Buros; 1985- James V. Mitchell, Jr.
Call Number: REF BF176 .B8
ISBN/ISSN: 0910674248
This is a catalog of tests along with descriptions of the tests and summaries of evaluations of the tests. Extensive bibliographic references to the evaluation literature are provided. Earlham has v. 3-11, 1949 through 1992.
Tests in Print / - assorted editors
Call Number: REF BF 176 .T4 1974-2002
ISBN/ISSN: 0910674566
Similar to Mental Measurements Yearbook above in structure and content.
One More Thing about Reference Sources
In addition to the specific print and electronic reference books in education listed below, consider broadening your search to include items from the HM and HQ areas in our reference section to
find information in the fields of sociology, social services women's studies, queer, gay and lesbian studies, and social history. There is also a host of other online encylopedia and dictionaries which you may find helpful.
Your Guide |
Jennie KiffmeyerOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1408
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Peace & Global Studies, Religion, Theatre Arts
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1408
Send Email
Subjects:
Classics, English, Peace & Global Studies, Religion, Theatre Arts







Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait