Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Theatre Arts Subject Guide  Tags: fine_arts  

Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://earlham.libguides.com/theatre  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Aids for Plays             Print Page
  

Finding Aids for Plays

  • Dramatic Publishing  
      
    Play publisher of musicals, drama, theatre for young audiences, comedies, duet-scenes, monologues, one-acts, and other theatre resources.
  • Dramatist Play Service, Inc.  
      
    Publisher of thousands of plays in "acting editions," including full-length,, short, musicals, collections, and not-yet-published. To search their offerings, you can use the PlayFinder found on their homepage.
  • Inter-Play: An Index to Plays in Collections, Anthologies, and Periodicals  
      
    Indexes plays by author and title, and identifies books and periodicals in which the play is located. You will then need to obtain the items either from the library's collection or interlibrary loan.
  • LitFinder  
      
    A resource comprising two databases, PoemFinder and StoryFinder. Use them to locate where individual poems or stories are collected in published works. Includes the full text of thousands of poems and stories, as well.
  • MTI: Musical Theatre International  
      
    MTI is another large purveyor of materials for musical theatre productions.
  • Play Index  
      
    In Lilly's Reference Collection: Ref PN 1655 .W4

    A much more thorough index than Inter-Play (above). Includes cast size and break-down into male/female. Volumes cover years from 1949 to 1997.
  • Playscripts, Inc.  
      
    Playscripts publishes over 1000 new plays and its Web site may be searched according to different criteria and provides lengthy script samples for free.
  • Samuel French, Inc.  
      
    Publisher of thousands of plays in "acting edition" [same scope as Dramatists Play Service above]. A search engine is included on their homepage.
  • Tams-Witmark Music Library, Inc.  
      
    Tams licenses and offers scripts, musical scores, orchestrations, prompt books, and conductor scores for musical theatre productions.
 

Your Guide

Profile ImageJennie Kiffmeyer


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1408
Send Email

Subjects:
Classics, English, Peace & Global Studies, Religion, Theatre Arts

 

Library Home · Lilly Library · Wildman Science Library · Friends Collection & College Archives ·

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095

Copyright information · Send corrections or comments to Web Editor

Description

  Loading content... please wait