Citations
How to Write Citations
RefWorks
RefWorks - Web-based software for managing citations and generating bibliographies. Simple to learn, but advanced features can be difficult to master. For assistance consult a reference librarian or take the RefWorks online tutorial. Off-campus users must obtain Earlham's "Group Code" from a librarian.
Style Guides
- American Psychological Association (APA)
- American Sociological Association (ASA)
- Council of Biological Editors (CBE)
- Chicago
- Modern Language Association (MLA)
- Turabian
- General Resources
American Psychological Association (APA)
- APA Style Guide Includes quotation examples (Concordia Libraries)
- A Guide to Writing Research Papers (Capital Community College)
- Using American Psychological Association (APA) Format (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
- ONLINE! - Principles of Using APA to Cite and Document Sources (Bedford/St. Martin's)
- Writer's Handbook - (University Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)
- APA Style.org - Electronic Resources
- APA: Citing Electronic Sources (APA)
- APA: Citing Print Sources (Indiana University Writing Tutorial Services)
- Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Lilly Library Ready Reference Shelf: BF76.7. P83
Wildman Science Library Reserves: BF76.7. P83
American Sociological Association (ASA)
- ASA Style: American Sociological Association Documentation Style PDF
- Formatting in Sociology (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
Council of Biological Editors (CBE)
- Using Scientific Literature in Earlham Biology Courses
A guide for Earlham biology students describing uses of scientific literature and a modified CBE style for print and electronic citations. - ONLINE! Using CBE Style to Cite and Document Sources (Bedford/St. Martin's)
Chicago
- Chicago Manual of Style Online
- Chicago Manual of Style Quickguide
- Chicago Citation Style - Color Coded examples in Reference List Style (Long Island University)
- ONLINE! Using Chicago Style to Cite and Document Sources (Bedford/St. Martin's)
- Writer's Handbook - (University Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)
- Examples of Chicago-Style Documentation
- Chicago Manual of Style
Lilly Ready Reference Shelf: Z253 .U69 1993
Wildman Science Library Reference: PN147 .C55 1993
Modern Language Association (MLA)
- Citing Sources in MLA Style (Indiana University Writing Tutorial Services)
- MLA Citation Style Printable version available (Concordia Libraries)
- Using Modern Language Association (MLA) Format (Purdue University Online Writing Lab)
- ONLINE! Using MLA Style to Cite and Document Sources (Bedford/St. Martin's)
- Writer's Handbook - (University Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)
- MLA: Citing Electronic Sources (Indiana University Libraries)
- MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Lilly Library Ready Reference Shelf: LB2369 .G53 2003
Wildman Science Library Reference: LB2369 .G53 2003 - MLA Style Manual
Lilly Library Ready Reference Shelf: PN147 .G444 1998
Wildman Science Library Reference: PN147 .G444 1998
Turabian
- Turabian and Chicago Styles - PDF (University of California Berkeley)
- Turabian Citation and Format Style Guide - Includes note, Parenthetical reference, bibliography, and reference list examples. (Bucknell University)
- Turabian Style Guide - PDF (Concordia Libraries)
- Turabian Citation Style - Color Coded examples (Long Island University)
- Writer's Handbook - (University Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center)
- A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses and Dissertations
Lilly Library Ready Reference Shelf: LB2369 .T8 1996
General Resources
- Documentation Guidelines: Citing Sources Within Your Paper - Guide to citing sources and avoiding plagiarism. (Duke University)
- The Elements of Style (William Strunk, Jr, 1918, first edition)
- Sources: Their Use and Acknowledgement (Dartmouth College)








Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait