Library Purchased Reference Sources
- Alexander Street Press Music Reference Contains over 137 reference books, including the Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, and a collection of over 15,000 digitized scores.
- Oxford Music Online Contains the full text of he New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition, 2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition, 2002), and more.
- Oxford Reference - Performing Arts Oxford Reference – Performing Arts
Contains the complete texts of Oxford University Press performing art dictionaries and encyclopedias, including companions for music, theater, opera, and dance. - Pop Culture Universe Contains 307 books, 4,133 book chapters, 17,322 encyclopedia entries, and 6,621 images, including many works on pop music and musicians.
Includes The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History, Jazz: A Regional Exploration, and Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture.
Web Resources
- AllMusic Biographies, discographies, reviews, and essays on [mostly] popular music.
- Black Grooves Searchable, critical reviews of recordings of a wide range of music from Indiana University's Archive of African American Music and Culture.
- Music, Theater, & Dance ("Library of Congress Presents") The Library of Congress's amazing array of articles, biographies, images, scores, and sound files on American music.
- Neue Mozart Ausgabe Scores and analysis (only in German) from the critical edition of Mozart's works from Barenheiter Verlag.
- Wolfram Alpha Music Search Unique database presents numerical information with supporting graphics and audio files.
Sample searches include finding the interval between notes, the notes in a scale, chordal information, and information on specific musical works.
Links to example music searches, input your terms in the top search box. - WWW Sites of Interest to Musicologists From the American Musicological Society.
Amy Bryant's Profile |
Amy BryantOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1302
Send Email
Subjects:
Business & Nonprofit Management, Economics, History, Music
![]() | ![]() | ![]() | ![]() |
Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1302
Send Email
Subjects:
Business & Nonprofit Management, Economics, History, Music







Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait