- Aesthetics On-Line
The American Society for Aesthetics site includes the ASA newsletter, articles and reviews, and links to a variety of resources on aesthetics.
- Artcyclopedia
Provides a very useful index of art images from museum sites on the web.
- Art History Resources on the Web
An useful guide to art history on the web, it contains links to museums and galleries organized by specialty including the pacific rim.
- Ceramics Today
Articles, image gallery, and links to resources on ceramics.
- Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco
Includes an "Imagebase" of 70,000 images.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art's Timeline of Art History
Presents a basic geographical and chronological context for the history of art around the globe.
- MoOm: The Museum of Online Museums
Contains links to many brick-and-mortar art museums as well as links to exhibits and galleries of particular interest to design students.
- National Gallery of Art
"[H]ouses one of the finest collections in the world illustrating major achievements in painting, sculpture, and graphic arts from the Middle Ages to the present."
- National Museum of American Art
Offers digital reproductions of works, introductory information, video clips, and text pertaining to American art. Sponsored by the National Museum of American Art, Smithsonian Institution.
- Smithsonian Archives of American Art
More than 13 million items, including the papers of artists, dealers, critics, art historians, curators, administrators and the records of art dealers, museums, and other art-related businesses, institutions, and organizations. Does NOT contain images.
- Tate Gallery Online
The "home of the national collection of British art from the 16th century to the present day."
- Voice of the Shuttle: Art and Art History Page
Sites in art and art history. Includes links to the Voice of the Shuttle's archaeology, architecture, and photography pages.
- World Wide Arts Resources
Covers all aspects of the arts: artists, galleries, museums, exhibitions, art for sale, art schools, art agencies, art history, film, theatre, dance, antiques, and arts events.