- The African-American Experience in Ohio, 1850-1920
Selected texts and images from the Ohio State Historical Society. These include manuscripts, pamphlets, photos, newspapers, and other periodicals. Maintained by the Library of Congress.
- The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
A guide to the institution's African-American collections. It covers the nearly 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere including Colonization, Abolition, and Migrations.
- African American Odyssey
Collection of narratives, songs, government documents, and maps that illustrate over 200 years of African American achievement and struggle.
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
Prepared by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture the collection contains essays, poetry, fiction, and autobiographical narratives.
- American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology
A sample of the 2,300 interviews conducted by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) writers. The complete transcripts are available in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography, edited by George P. Rawick. Lilly Library has the volumes.
- Archives of African American Music and Culture
Designed and maintained by Laura Crain, archivist, at Indiana University.
- "Been Here So Long": Selections from the WPA American Slave Narratives
A selection of 17 interviews of former slaves conducted by members of the Federal Writers Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA). Also features an introductory essay, three lesson plans, and a modest annotated guide to related online resources
- Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Official site of The Center for the Study of Southern Culture at the University of Mississippi, an interdiciplinary academic program designed "to investigate, document, interpret, and teach about the American South".
- Death or Liberty: Gabriel, Nat Turner, and John Brown
Transcripts and digital images of over 60 documents concerning acts of resistance to slavery in Virginia between the American Revolution and the Civil War. These include Gabriel's Conspiracy, Nat Turner's Rebellion, and John Brown's Raid.
- Documenting the American South
Among many other things, a collection of 19th literature and slave narratives maintained by the University of North Carolina.
- The Frederick B. Douglass Papers
- Furman University, Secession Era Editorials Project
Offers full-text search capability to speeches and newspaper accounts in the period leading up to and through the Civil War.
- The Jackson Davis Collection of African-American Educational Photographs
Photos taken between 1915 and 1930 presenting African-American education at "colored schools" in the Southern US and also including views of Africa. Maintained by the Special Collections Department at the University of Virginia.
- The Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project
- Plowshares Digital Archive for Peace Studies
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
- Underground Railroad: Special Resource Study
- The Valley of the Shadow
Offers primary sources from the period just before the Civil War. It includes transcripts of original slave narratives, links to maps, church records, military records, letters, diaries, newspapers, public records, and church records.
- Virginia Runaways Project
A database of runaway and captured slave advertisements that features the full transcripts and images of runaway and captured slave ads placed in Virginia newspapers from 1736 to 1790.