- African Studies: General
- An A-Z of African Studies on the Internet
Links to a variety of Africa-related resources. Maintained by Dr. Peter Limb at the University of Western Australia.
- AfricaBib.org

Includes the Africa Women's Bibliographic Database -- more than 21,000 citations from 1986 to present -- and the Africana Periodical Literature Bibliographic Database, listing more than 28,000 citations drawn from 250 journals, 19th century to date.
- Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent
A collection of multimedia materials on African history and cultures, with more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and over 50 hours of audio recordings. Maintained by the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
- African Studies Quarterly
Analysis of current events in Africa.
- African Studies WWW
The African Studies Center at the University of Pennsylvania links to a variety of general African Studies sources.
- Country-Specific Pages
Links to the University of Pennsylvania's informational pages on many of the countries in Africa.
- The Middle East North Africa Internet Resource Guide
Maintained by Joseph Roberts of the University of Utah, the site offers an index to resources covering the Middle East and North Africa.
- KENYA
- Kenyaweb
Headline news, links to government and business sites, a virtual tour of Nairobi, and much more.
- SOUTH AFRICA
- Daily Mail & Guardian
Online version of the daily newspaper.
- AFRICAN-AMERICAN STUDIES
- The African-American Experience in Ohio, 1850-1920
Selected texts and images from the Ohio State Historical Society. These include manuscripts, pamphlets, photos, newspapers, and other periodicals. Maintained by the Library of Congress.
- The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
A guide to the institution's African-American collections. It covers the nearly 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere including Colonization, Abolition, and Migrations.
- African American Odyssey
Collection of narratives, songs, government documents, and maps that illustrate over 200 years of African American achievement and struggle.
- African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
Prepared by the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture the collection contains essays, poetry, fiction, and autobiographical narratives.
- American Slave Narratives: An Online Anthology

A sample of the 2,300 interviews conducted by the Works Progress Administration (WPA) writers. The complete transcripts are available in The American Slave:
- Archives of African American Music and Culture
Designed and maintained by Laura Crain, archivist, at Indiana University.
- "Been Here So Long": Selections from the WPA American Slave Narratives
A selection of 17 interviews of former slaves conducted by members of the Federal Writers Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA). Also features an introductory essay, three lesson plans, and a modest annotated guide to related online resources
- Center for the Study of Southern Culture
Official site of The Center for the Study of Southern Culture at the University of Mississippi, an interdiciplinary academic program designed "to investigate, document, interpret, and teach about the American South".
- Death or Liberty: Gabriel, Nat Turner, and John Brown

Transcripts and digital images of over 60 documents concerning acts of resistance to slavery in Virginia between the American Revolution and the Civil War. These include Gabriel's Conspiracy, Nat Turner's Rebellion, and John Brown's Raid.
- Documenting the American South
Among many other things, a collection of 19th literature and slave narratives maintained by the University of North Carolina.
- The Frederick B. Douglass Papers

The first release of the Douglass Papers, from the Library of Congress's Manuscript Division, contains approximately 2,000 items (16,000 images) relating to Douglass's life as an escaped slave, abolitionist, editor, orator, and public servant.
- Furman University, Secession Era Editorials Project
Offers full-text search capability to speeches and newspaper accounts in the period leading up to and through the Civil War.
- The Jackson Davis Collection of African-American Educational Photographs
Photos taken between 1915 and 1930 presenting African-American education at "colored schools" in the Southern US and also including views of Africa. Maintained by the Special Collections Department at the University of Virginia.
- The Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project

Located at Stanford University, this site will likely become the definitive collection of the civil rights leader's writings. Includes full-text primary documents (e.g., the "I Have a Dream" speech and the "I've Been To The Mountaintop" sermon),
- Plowshares Digital Archive for Peace Studies

Primary documents covering the social justice efforts of Earlham College, Goshen College, and Manchester College, as well as their affiliated historic peace churches (Quakers, Mennonites, and the Church of the Brethren) from the 1700s to the present.
- Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture

Includes photographs and texts on African-American history. Examples: African-American Women Writers of the 19th Century; Images of African Americans from the 19th Century; Harlem 1900-1940: An African-American Community;
- Underground Railroad: Special Resource Study

This National Park Service site contains information from a 1990 study of the Underground Railroad, including "a general overview of the Underground Railroad, with a brief discussion of slavery and abolitionism, escape routes used by slaves,
- The Valley of the Shadow

Offers primary sources from the period just before the Civil War. It includes transcripts of original slave narratives, links to maps, church records, military records, letters, diaries, newspapers, public records, and church records gathered from
- Virginia Runaways Project

A database of runaway and captured slave advertisements that features the full transcripts and images of runaway and captured slave ads placed in Virginia newspapers from 1736 to 1790. Maintained by Thomas Costa of the History Department