Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

English Resource Guide  Tags: humanities  

A starting point for research in any English course at Earlham.
Last update: Oct 20th, 2009 URL: http://earlham.libguides.com/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources and Web Sites             Print Page
  

Reference Sources and Web Sites

  • Literature Resource Center  
      
    Biographical information and critical analyses of authors from throughout history and around the world, plus full-text articles over 100 scholarly journals.
  • Blackwell Reference Online  
      
    Contains the complete texts of nearly 300 Blackwell Publishing reference books arranged by subject. Literature examples include Feminist Companion to Shakespeare, Companion to the Victorian Novel, and Companion to Eighteenth-Century Poetry.
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature  
      
    Online version of the Oxford University Press title (2006).
  • The Year's Work in English Studies  
      
    Review articles of scholarly books and articles dealing with English-language literature published in a given year.
  • Oxford English Dictionary  
      
    Current, online version of the famous dictionary.
  • Oxford Reference Online  
      
    Contains the complete texts of over 100 Oxford University Press dictionaries and reference titles, including 16 titles in literature.
  • LitFinder  
      
    Use it to locate where individual poems or stories are collected in published works. Includes the full text of thousands of poems and stories, as well.
  • Links to Selected Resources for Literatures in English  
      
    A great place to browse for web links related to topics in English literatures, maintained by specialists in the Association of College and Research Libraries.
  • Reference Universe  
    A unique tool that can search across the indexes of many reference works. The book icon next to the title indicates whether we have the resource. Remote students can use Document Delivery to request specific reference articles unavailable online.

Poetry Web Sites

  • The Poetry Foundation  
    The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience.
  • Poetry Archive  
    The Poetry Archive is a free, online collection of recordings of poets reading their work.
  • Poets.org  
    Created by the Academy of American Poets, Poets.org contains thousands of poems as well as hundreds of poet biographies, essays, interviews, and poetry recordings—with new material being added constantly. Also available are resources such as the National Poetry Map, a national events calendar, and poetry lesson plans for teachers.
 

Your Guide

Profile ImageJennie Kiffmeyer


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
Lilly Library
765/983-1408
Send Email

Subjects:
Classics, English, Peace & Global Studies, Religion, Theatre Arts

 

Library Home · Lilly Library · Wildman Science Library · Friends Collection & College Archives ·

Earlham College • 801 National Road West • Richmond, Indiana 47374-4095

Copyright information · Send corrections or comments to Web Editor

Description

  Loading content... please wait